Hope Unlooked For

Do you ever find yourself relying again and again on certain cosmetic pieces? I certainly do. I struggled with this outfit because I was trying to make it unique.. and not use the Cloak of the Mallorn when I had just featured it in crimson last week. I tried many cloaks–the Golden Tree Summer Cloak seemed like an option–but nothing felt right! I was very dissatisfied with this outfit until I finally gave in and put on the beautiful Cloak of the Mallorn. It fit so well with the heavy chest piece and the Ceremonial Town-Saver’s Helm.

 


This horse, the steed from Esteldín, was difficult to match. I found myself once again using ranger green, though not without trying olive first. Unfortunately not even ranger green perfectly matches the saddle blanket here (it would be a more pleasing color if it did), but it will suffice.

The title is a reference to Esteldín’s name which roughly means “Silent Hope” (estel, “hope;” dín, “silence or silent”) or perhaps even “Hope Pass” (dín, “opening, gap, pass in mountains”). I am far from an expert in Sindarin and I get this translation from other sources and this helpful dictionary. Either translation makes sense–the fortress lies in a pass through a mountain range, and it lies hidden or “silent.” The title is also a reference to what was written of Éomer when he learned that his sister was still living:

Then hope unlooked-for came so suddenly to Éomer’s heart, and with it the bite of care and fear renewed, that he said no more, but turned and went swiftly from the hall.

Speaking of the Rohirrim..

What a day for LOTRO news! Riders of Rohan–delayed. I must say that I am both surprised and not surprised at the announcement, both disappointed and relieved. Like many of my fellow beta players, I can tell you (now that the NDA is lifted) that there is a lot of amazing gameplay coming, but much clean-up needs to be done before Rohan is ready to launch. I have only gotten to dabble in the mount cosmetic system myself–the store wasn’t working very well when I was on, and the dyes were unfortunately bugged. The ever diligent Cosmetic LOTRO has already posted some wonderful previews of the mount cosmetics. And my good friend Nathrien at Material Middle Earth has posted some previews of the new cosmetics.

Note that you can actually change the size and build of your mount (though this affects gameplay). Light mounts for the hobbits are such delicate little things–perhaps 1 1/2 to 2 hands shorter than current ponies. Heavy hobbit mounts are thick, heavy ponies that almost rival the light mounts for men and elves in size. The texture and colors of their coats will be able to be changed! We shall have draught horses and paints and Shetland ponies, oh my!
It will be worth the wait for cosmetic hounds! And I hope that the system is expanded upon with a shared wardrobe system for mount cosmetics. But I am leaping ahead in my enthusiasm; Rohan will be wonderful as it is (so long as they get most of those bugs ironed out.)

In other LOTRO news: Check out Windy Acres Ranch’s Equestrian Fashion contest, ending soon on August 31st! I look forward to seeing the creativity in our cosmetic community!

Head: (Ceremonial) Town-Saver’s Helm, ranger green (skirm cosmetic vendor)
Shoulders: Wynmar’s End, rust (quest, Great River)
Cloak: Cloak of the Mallorn, ranger green (LOTRO store)
Chest: Ornate Surcoat of the Dunland Swordsman, ranger green (quest, Dunland)
Gloves: (Ceremonial) Town-Saver’s Gloves, ranger green (skirm cosmetic vendor)
Mount: Prized Esteldin horse
Boots: (Ceremonial) Town-Saver’s Boots, ranger green (skirm cosmetic vendor)

4 thoughts on “Hope Unlooked For

  1. Aaaaaw this is truly beautiful! The screenshots radiate a beautiful atmosphere and the almost regal outfit matches very well with this elegant steed. I understand your passion for this cloak, I suffer from similar addictions too. Well done outfit, love the screenies!

  2. Very pretty. I think you did a great job matching the steed. You’re going to be one busy lady when Rohan hits! 😀

    I also love your title and subject matter of the post. My other favourite great expression of hope unlooked-in Tolkien is when Eärendil comes to Valinor and Eonwë says “Hail Eärendil, of mariners most renowned, the looked for that cometh at unawares, the longed for that cometh beyond hope!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

