My Favorite Things

“My Favorite (Hobbity) Things,” adapted from “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music.

Tassels on dresses and letters of loves,
Sparkly rubies and gardening gloves,
Sleek brown ponies with tiny bells that rings!
These are a few of my favorite things!


Cream colored ponies and crisp, hot hobbit pies*,
Lanterns and chickens and glorious sunrise!
Great steaming steeds that carry the knights of kings,
These are a few of my favorite things.


Elves in fine dresses, merry hobbit lasses,
Tunics embroidered and bedecked with sashes,
Mountains of flowers, festivals of springs,
These are a few of my favorite things!


When the warg bites,
When the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad;
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don’t feel so bad!

*But not delivering them.

Whew. Master lyricist, I am not. Rhyming makes my wee hobbit brain hurt.

Mathoms, as any hobbit or hobbit-friend knows, is something that hobbits have no use for, but just can’t bear to toss out. Little packrats. The Mathom Society’s headquarters in Michel Delving is filled with them; I recommend taking a look if you’re in the area. I rather like the hobbit tradition of giving away mathoms for their birthdays instead of receiving presents; you get all your gift-giving done in one shot!

This outfit is one of my new favorite things! Clothing elves and women is all right, but I am never happier than when I am dressing a hobbit. I love the new Summerdays Hat! I loves the gold trim (thought I wish it weren’t quite so green). I loves its shape. I loves it on a hobbit lass’s head. It’s good to be a hobbit!

Head: Summerdays Hat, black (Summer festival 2012)
Back: Elegant Backpack, black (Bree reputation vendor, kindred needed)
Shoulders: Yule Scarf, olive (Yule festival)
Chest: Mariner’s Hauberk, black (Yule festival)
Gloves: Gardening Gloves, olive (Farmer’s Faire)
Mount: Prized Mathom Society Pony

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Things

  1. I’ve been slacking lately with scoping out the latest blog entries, but I eventually made it back here. It’s always great to see a creative and refreshing post, especially one that’s adapted lyrics from one of my favorite films of all time! The lyrics are adorable, as is the outfit featured here. Even though I have one myself, I’ve never seen the Mariner’s Hauberk put to use in an outfit before…and I love what I see here πŸ™‚ The blacks, browns, and greens are a perfect for your hobbit and they match the Mathom steed quite well too!

Leave a Reply

