Come Back to Me

When Spring unfolds the beechen leaf, and sap is in the bough;
When light is on the wild-wood stream, and wind is on the brow;
When stride is long, and breath is deep, and keen the mountain-air,
Come back to me! Come back to me, and say my land is fair!

“The Ent and the Ent-wife,” J.R.R. Tolkien

When I was younger, and reading through The Lord of the Rings for the first time, I skipped most of the poems. Now that I am older, I am not quite so hasty, and all the better for it! “The Ent and the Entwife” caught my attention upon my latest reread. It is just the prettiest marital argument, sung quite well here.

I think that the story of the Ent and the Entwives is one of the more tragic in Lord of the Rings, because it has no real conclusion. What happened to the Entwives? We don’t really know, but Tolkien suggests in a letter that they were likely destroyed with their gardens by Sauron. The Ents and their wives allowed their preoccupation with their favorite things to supersede their love for each other, and they paid the price for it–a very long, possibly permanent, separation.

I really struggled with this outfit, and I don’t really feel I pulled it off. I started off in a completely different direction from what you see here–a predominately white outfit made mostly of Dar Narbugud pieces. Then I found the Shoulders of the West Tower, which seemed to perfectly match the Grey Horse’s saddle and blanket, and so scrapped every bit of the outfit I was working on and ended up with an odd explorer’s outfit.

There’s a sale going on tailor made for us cosmetic hounds! 30% off on the Wardrobe, Outfit Slots, and store-bought cosmetics! I snapped up the last two outfit slots and 20 wardrobe slots. This sale lasts to the 13th of Sept.

Shoulders: Ceremonial Shoulders of the West-Tower, default (skirm barter)
Cloak: Wood-Wanderer’s Cloak, rust (LOTRO Store)
Chest: Golgallon’s Armour, sienna (Quest)
Gloves: Fingerless Gloves, default (Winter festival)
Legs: Ceremonial Silver-Voice Leggings, rust (skirm barter)
Boots: Ceremonial Nenuial’s Boots, default (skirm barter)
Mount: Grey Horse (Vol I reward)

4 thoughts on “Come Back to Me

  1. Oooh, the shoulders and the chest are such an excellent combination! Great explorer’s/traveller’s outfit!

    Isn’t it funny how you can start working on an outfit and by the time you’re done you’ve got something completely different than what you intended to make. 🙂

  2. Some outfits are difficult to pull off, even with the best of intentions. It’s been a royal pain working with the Robe of the Lady’s Wisdom from DN…there’s just way too much going on with that robe, even though it dyes well!

    Anyway, I love the multitude of earthen tones in your outfit, especially between the chest piece and leggings! It’s a great match for the steed as well 🙂 I haven’t seen the Grey Horse in use for a long time.

Leave a Reply

